Anna

Don’t call it “Frisco”

In Anna, San Francisco on October 7, 2009 at 1:25 am
Palace of Fine Arts

Palace of Fine Arts

Okay, so it is completely coincidental that Kimberly and I both chose nightscape shots to start off our dual photo blog.  I swear.   Like Kimberly, I chose an architectural structure that is quintessential San Francisco (and not as cliche as the perpetually fogged-in Golden Gate Bridge).

The Palace of Fine Arts, in my opinion, is one of the most beautiful places in the Bay Area. Maybe that’s why I chose to live two blocks away…  It almost seems to pop up out of nowhere – it’s pleasantly surprising.

Oh, and here’s a fun little fact: Locals hate it when you call SF “Frisco”.  Pretty much everyone here just refers to it as “The City”.  I’ll have to train myself not to immediately think of NYC.

  1. Does anyone actually call it Frisco? I have only ever seen that in old movies or people being intentionally obnoxious.

    • You’d be surprised. I didn’t think anyone other than Otis Redding called it that until I moved out here. I’m constantly getting asked “How are you liking things in Frisco?”. I play dumb and respond with “I’m sorry, where?”.

  2. […] small portion of the domed ceiling that was visible in Anna’s shot of the Palace of Fine Arts yesterday inspired this photograph. The dome’s ceiling was a background detail in her photo, […]

Leave a Reply

