Anna

Here’s to you

In Kimberly, Washington DC on October 28, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Meaningful labor

Yesterday Anna expressed her gratitude to the first responders who serve and protect us. I share her appreciation for and thankfulness of their service. I would also like to express my appreciation for those who serve in jobs that are far less celebrated.

I grew up in Texas, where hard work is considered worthy for its own sake and country music is a blood-borne love. I loved the song 40 Hour Week by Alabama when I was growing up in Texas. The lyrics celebrate the hard work so many do for precious little thanks:

There are people in this country who work hard every day
Not for fame or fortune do they strive
But the fruits of their labor are worth more than their pay
And it’s time a few of them were recognized

To the people I interact with every day whose jobs are not properly compensated – to the lady at the Philip’s next door to my office who makes the world’s best egg bagel breakfast sandwiches, to the cleaning crew who fed our office fish while we were away last Christmas, to the bus driver who every-single-morning grins at me like I’m his own flesh and blood when I get on the bus – I am saying thank you, again.

My photo is a tribute to those people I know who are working hard to make my life more comfortable, but who I rarely see and as a result do not get to thank, such as the guys who maintain the grounds my apartment building is on and the hotel cleaning staff when I am traveling for work.

  1. […] photo yesterday had a very Doris Day feel to it. Tonight, my new friend Lindsay and I headed to the SF Fashion Bash at Cathedral Hill Hotel […]

Leave a Reply

