Anna

Too many goodbyes

In Anna, San Francisco on November 15, 2009 at 2:26 am

Chewy

My trips to Seattle need to stop being shrouded in death. I just learned that my 14-year-old puppy has kidney disease. And his condition is terminal. I’m coming back to spend Christmas with my family next month, but I’m not very hopeful that he will make it until then. So I’m saying my goodbyes now.

Chewy (yes, as in Chewbacca – he has the same coloring) is a high maintenance awesome dog. Completely antisocial; sometimes deigns to grace you with his presence; growls to let you know he’s sick of you petting him. Like I said: awesome. He’s mellowed out a lot in his old age, making him even more lovable. He’s been my buddy for years and I’m sad to see him go. But unfortunately, nothing lasts forever. So here is my black and white goodbye.

  1. What a cute face.

    It’s so hard to lose a pet. I’m sad with you about Chewy.

    Come back to SF. This city needs you…

  2. […] has had an amazing 14 years with her dog Chewie, who’s mortality she’s all too aware of the moment. Their love made me think about how […]

  3. […] always fantastic seeing my family, the trip was for rather unfortunate reasons.  Our family dog, Chewy, passed away Thursday night and I found out while I was at dinner with a friend.  My mother was in […]

Leave a Reply

