Anna

Settling in

In Anna, San Francisco on December 8, 2009 at 1:43 am

DIY

The colorful decorations in Old Town made me a little sad about my barren apartment. I unpacked and fully furnished my new apartment within a week of arriving in San Francisco. However, I kind of just stopped after that, leaving my walls completely empty. Wall decorations have always stumped me. For ages, I’ve wanted to print my photos and decorate my apartment gallery-style. But I could never convince myself to spend hundreds on frames.

Thankfully, Kimberly pointed out two wonderful things today: 1) ridiculously cheap frames at Ikea; and 2) magnetic photo ropes from Photojojo. Only thing is, I have so much wall space (trust me, I am not at all complaining about this) that I feel like covering them in photo ropes might look a bit too industrious. So I’ve girlified Photojojo’s idea (not something I do often) and instead of wire and magnets, I’m using ribbons and swirl clips.

I’m looking forward to spending the weekend sifting through photos and finally tackling my apartment. I haven’t done anything this crafty in years!

  1. Looooove your idea! Reminds me of my ribbon/clothespin approach: http://lindsaymeyer.wordpress.com/2009/09/03/friday-favorites-5/

    Can’t wait to see how it turns out!

  2. […] getting creative to decorate her new place, which I am all for. See also: giant homemade tissue paper puffs and a vase of mums, which were […]

  3. […] you later”. Here I was, working along, picking out the photos I was going to print for my new decoration project. Then blip! Everything’s gone. So the only things going up and down and sideways right now […]

Leave a Reply

