Anna

Pasko na naman

In Anna, San Francisco on December 13, 2009 at 3:39 am

SF Parol Festival

Parols (pronounced with a rolled “r”) are Christmas ornaments unique to the Philippines. For me, Christmas is not complete without them. It’s kind of funny because parols can range so greatly, but they are all easily identifiable as parols. They can be as simple as the star above or as elaborate as intricate images of the Virgin Mary. Most are made with paper or plastic, as they usually hang outside. The Madre prefers the fancier parols made of capiz shells.

My Lola (“grandmother” in Tagalog) has an absolutely giant parol that my uncles made when they were younger. It’s a big blue star encompassed by a white wreath that stands nearly two stories tall. It hangs from her roof at her home in Manila and has become kind of a neighborhood institution. It really is an amazing sight to behold.

  1. […] was cool, damp and foggy in Washington, DC, tonight. Everywhere I looked, the lights were glowing warmly. On my way back from seeing a show at 9:30 Club, I snapped several photos with my iPhone because I […]

Leave a Reply

