Anna

Gold(fish) rush

In Kimberly, Washington DC on January 19, 2010 at 8:54 pm

Cat munching Goldfish

You’re looking at compromise, or maybe it’s improv. What it’s not is an A game. I had, what I thought, was a fairly rad idea for today’s shot. I am not totally giving up on recreating it at another time, so I’ll go light on the details, but it involved a whole fish. Turns out, you have to order those at my grocery store, which I did* yesterday, to be picked up this afternoon. However, when I went to get my special ordered trout, it had been accidentally sold to another customer! They were very apologetic, but I left the fish counter trout-less.

Moping around the grocery, I was not optimistic I could find something else fish-shaped. I first checked the freezer section, hoping for fish shaped nuggets. (Did you know fish nuggets in any form don’t even exist? That those aren’t a thing? Well now you do.) I came up empty-handed. On my way to get macaroni and cheese (comfort food. Shut up, you would’ve done it too), I saw a display of Goldfish. Not the fish I was hoping for, but they’d do.

* The fact that I special ordered a trout for a photo is not going to stop being funny to me for a while.

  1. This is an impromptu photo? I would have never guessed! Love it.

  2. Thanks! Yes, it was a late, late game change. Worked out in the end, and with these fish my hands don’t reek. 😉

  3. […] little tongue lapping up the goldfish crackers was beyond adorable. Ideally, I would have wandered around the city, in search of some street art […]

Leave a Reply

