Anna

Tahoe bliss

In Anna, San Francisco on January 31, 2010 at 12:53 pm

R & R

This was the most skin I exposed yesterday. After a few years off the slopes (not wanting to kill my skis on the East Coast ice hills), I spent the day bundled up in Tahoe. I was jittery with excitement and having such high expectations can easily lead to disappointment. Though I’m happy to report there was none of that yesterday!

I took the Bay Area Ski Bus, which was pretty freaking awesome. For $105, we got a ride up and back from SF to Kirkwood, full breakfast served on the bus (they even had blueberry bagels! The key to my heart), lift tickets, and an après-ski party! Needless to say, I will be partaking of this bus multiple times before the season is over.

Kirkwood was nothing short of spectacular. It was peculiarly empty. I’m not sure if it was because there are so many runs and lifts that there was plenty of space for everyone, or if it was just a quiet Saturday. Either way, we never had to wait in line for lifts and didn’t have to dodge any ski school kids. It was perfect. The powder was like butter, it wasn’t too cold, and the runs were perfectly groomed. You couldn’t have asked for better ski conditions. Oh, and I’m happy to say that yours truly didn’t fall down once! And trust me, we traversed some challenging trails.

  1. Glad you had a fun time. Sounds like you met people?? Are you sore today?! Warm bath = fabulous idea (which might explain why I do it every single night!).

  2. Yeah, I met a lot of really cool people. The bus was packed, but everyone was so nice and chill. It was a great time. Made lots of new friends. 🙂

    Surprisingly, I’m not really that sore! Nothing compared to my return to yoga a couple of weeks ago!

  3. […] on the idea of feeling exposed, I can’t imagine anything more likely to make me feel naked (and not in a good way), than […]

Leave a Reply

