Anna

My favorite things

In Anna, San Francisco on February 8, 2010 at 12:01 am

Blue Barn

While I love dressing up to eat at fancy restaurants, I find greater joy in the little things. Here’s my countdown of preferred culinary experiences:

3.  Hot chocolate and pastries, curled up on the couch in pajamas with a roaring fire, a good book or movie, and snow falling heavily outside.

2.  Outdoor seating on a bright sunny day. This also extends to picnics in the park. Blue Barn sandwiches (one of my favorite places to grab a bite in the Marina) is an added bonus.

1.  Rooftop bars and restaurants. A good view has the uncanny ability to make even the blandest food delicious.

On a Super Bowl note:

  • To the Saints: my heartfelt congratulations. You had a hell of a season and played a damn good game tonight (that onside kick and recovery and interception were unbelievable). You earned that ring.
  • To my Colts: Thanks for another incredible season; you make me proud. Looking forward to next Fall.
  1. You must go to Pluto’s ASAP! I stopped in for a sandwich this afternoon. It had grilled chicken, goat cheese, cherry tomatoes, pear chutney, arugula and balsamic vinaigrette on foccacia. $6.47. Kept me full for 6 hours.

    Oh! And there’s this rooftop bar at Medjool. Have you heard of it? Apparently they have great views. We should go there for drinks when the weather is a little warmer. Although, hello, it has been pretty darn warm this weekend!

  2. I know, I keep meaning to go to Pluto’s! I’ll work on it, promise. 🙂

    Never heard of Medjool, but I’m never one to turn down an invitation to a rooftop bar! What neighborhood is it in?

  3. […] few of my favorite things: my nephew, ridiculous but charming humor and good memories. When I was home for Christmas, I […]

Leave a Reply

