Anna

Cloak of invisibility

In Kimberly, Washington DC on February 17, 2010 at 5:20 pm

Huddled against the cold in Franklin Square

Today I went to get lunch from a food truck parked at Franklin Square, which is right in the middle of  my work stopping grounds. It is frigid cold today and I was only outside for about 15 minutes. By the time I made it back to my desk, I was cold to the bone and regretting my choice to go outside to grab lunch at all.

While I was out getting lunch, I noticed this homeless person huddled on a bench in Franklin Square. He was bundled up in many layers and had wrapped himself in a moving blanket to keep warm. Almost five hours later when I went to get a cup of coffee, I saw that he was still there – in this frigid, terrible cold – in the exact same spot, and I took this photo. No doubt many noticed him and were empathetic to his situation – homeless, with nowhere to go during the day. Shelters in the area provide relief from the cold during the night, allowing people to come in for dinner and stay until morning. But there do not seem to be many that offer a warm place to stay during the day. I literally cannot imagine having no choice but to stay outside during a day like today. I feel powerless to address the problem, which is no excuse for lack of action, it’s just to say that I don’t know what to do to begin to help.

  1. […] This giant group of students was sitting around, waiting for the train at Dulles to be fixed. Why they didn’t just hop on one of the Star Wars-esque people movers to take them to their terminal was beyond me. It looked like they had been waiting there a while. […]

Leave a Reply

