Anna

The future of Energy

In Anna, Washington DC on March 2, 2010 at 9:37 am

iPhone: ARPA-E Innovation Summit

I’m back in DC for the ARPA-E Energy Innovation Summit. For those of you unfamiliar with ARPA-E, it is the Department of Energy’s equivalent to DARPA, the Department of Defense program that funds high-risk, high pay-off research. ARPA-E has the same principles but with an energy focus. It funds projects that could potentially produce the next generation of energy innovation.

Secretary Chu gave the keynote speech to start the summit off this morning. I’m amazed at how few women there are here. And most of those present are event staff. I guess I shouldn’t be too surprised since energy and science are sectors still primarily dominated by boys with their toys

After an all-day meeting back in San Francisco yesterday, I took a red-eye to Dulles and headed straight to the conference after navigating through DC morning rush hour. I’m exhausted, but the adrenaline and excitement of being a part of all of this is keeping me going. Just hanging on until 9:30 tonight when I can walk back to my hotel and collapse.

  1. […] is cool with sitting down for unusual reasons. I asked her to hangout near this necklace, and she obliged me with her own funky tuck and fierce […]

  2. I just stumbled onto your blog from wordpress’s tag surfer function (washington dc). Your idea is so great!

Leave a Reply

